

IMSF calls for nominations for the:

2018 Curt Brunnée Award

"For outstanding contributions to the development of instrumentation for mass spectrometry by a person under the age of 45 at the time of the award"

sponsored by *ThermoFisher Scientific* and to be awarded at the 22nd International Mass Spectrometry Conference, Florence (Firenze), Italy August 26-31, 2018

For further details about the conference: http://www.imsc2018.it/

The International Mass Spectrometry Foundation and the Organizing Committee of the 22nd International Mass Spectrometry Conference invite nominations for the Curt Brunnée Award to be made on the occasion of the 22nd IMSC in Florence, August 26-31, 2018. The prize, of \$5,000 (USD), is generously sponsored by ThermoFisher Scientific and will be made to an individual for:

"outstanding contributions to the development of instrumentation for mass spectrometry by a person under the age of 45 at the time of the award"

Dr Curt Brunnée worked for 35 years at MAT; a mass spectrometry instrumentation company that, through many transformations (Atlas, Krupp, Varian, Finnigan), became what is now known as ThermoFisher Scientific. During this time, Dr. Brunnée designed and developed over 20 different mass spectrometers and inspired many of the leading instrument developers; including those of the modern era. His outstanding contributions to the field of mass spectrometry were recognized by the International Mass Spectrometry Foundation who awarded him the Thomson Medal in 1994 (Budapest). In 1991, ThermoFisher Scientific (then Finnigan) the Curt Brunnée award, which is given to young promising scientists, who has made an essential contribution to the development in experimental and theoretical mass spectrometry.

Full Biography available at *Rapid. Commun. Mass Spectrom.* 11, 708–713 (1997) An influential publication by Dr Brunnée is available at *Int. J. Mass Spectrom. Ion Phys.* **76**, 125–237 (1987). Nominations may be made by individual scientists or by national mass spectrometry societies, but self-nominations are not acceptable.

Nominations should consist of a nomination letter stating the candidate's achievements, one seconding letter, and supporting material. The total documentation is not to exceed 10 pages.

Deadline for receipt of nominations is December 31, 2017

The committee chair for the year 2018 award is Prof. Scott A. McLuckey and nomination documents should be addressed to him electronically at:

Prof. Scott A. McLuckey Chair, 2018 Curt Brunnée Award Committee Department of Chemistry Purdue University West Lafayette, Indiana, USA Email: <u>mcluckey@purdue.edu</u>

A decision will be reached by **April 30, 2018** to allow the successful candidate to attend the conference.

Previous winners of the award were:

Dr. Gareth Brenton, Swansea, 1994
Prof. Michael Guilhaus, University of New South Wales, 1997
Prof. Scott McLuckey, Purdue University, 2000
Dr. Michisato Toyoda, Osaka University, 2003
Prof. Roman Zubarev, Uppsala University, 2006
Dr. Alexander Makarov, Thermo Scientific, 2009
Prof. Zheng Ouyang, Purdue University, 2012
Dr. Dimitris Papanastasiou, Fasmatech, 2014
Dr. Yury Tsybin, Spectroswiss, 2016